About Snow

It is snowing here today.  My sister stopped by a few minutes ago between errands (I suspect to make sure I’m still alive & kicking 😉.) I asked her if she would open her drapes so I could watch it fall. After heavy sighs, & mutterings about how she likes her drapes closed, she relented.

I understand her disbelief that anyone would want to watch snow fall.  Today’s accumulation will be 3-5″.  Back home in Georgia, that would be a major, world-stopping storm! Here, that amount is considered a nuisance. It is “meh”, nada, zip, zilch.  Worst thing about it is the salt; you can almost hear it rusting the undersides of vehicles 😖.

Lucky me. I don’t have to go out this weather. But there were other days, when I was a single mother living in New Hampshire, that snow was the bane of existence.  Daughter Jen told me that the most vivid memory of living in the hinterland was me crying every time it snowed. (Really? Moi?)

For example, the day I flagged down a snow removal guy, & begged him to remove the foot of snow from my driveway.  I didn’t have a contract with him, so he made me pay, monetarily and psychologically. You see, instead of turning his vehicle around, & pointing the shovel thing toward the street, he plowed a 10-foot pile of snow against the doors of my detached garage!  There was still a smal pile of snow remaining in the driveway in June!

And then, there was the time I returned to Manchester, NH, airport late at night after a business trip to New York City. Unfortunately, it had snowed like a beast all day. Walking to my car through the parking lot in high heels was awful. But when I realized that my car doors and gas tank cover were frozen shut, I feel certain that the tears must have flowed freely.

Truthfully, I have no recollection of how that tragedy resolved itself, but it must have. Because here I am, snug as a bug in a rug, watching what was once the worst thing ever, become a beautiful landscape, right before my eyes.

Life lessons:  Bad times always go away. Time heals almost everything. And, We are stronger than we think we are. 🤓

One thought on “About Snow

  1. Vicki, so happy you’re doing so well! Been thinking of you – treatment sounds awesome! Cheering you on – your YaYas miss you! Love, Ria

Leave a Reply

